Flyers Season Starts Tomorrow

Ever since the draft lottery results were announced, I’ve been looking forward to this season starting for the Flyers.  I’ve already posted some thoughts, but now that the season is almost upon us I wanted to put out a post talking more about the team now that we know who’s actually on it.  Sadly the final roster won’t be fully settled as there’s still some issues surrounding Ghost that have yet to be fully resolved.  As such, the defense hasn’t been completely paired down to the actual squad as I don’t see the Flyers keeping 8 defenders all year long.

In looking at the final roster, I’m honestly not real sure what to think of the forward group, and especially who was chosen to start with the Flyers versus being sent down.  I think the one transaction that surprised me was Lindblom being sent down as I was really hoping he’d push for a top 6 spot.  However, with Matt Read also being sent down to make room for 8 defenders, maybe there’s some hope that Lindblom will be the one to come back up.  Either way, I expect him to be back up soon.  Otherwise the forwards seem to have shaken out as expected with one major curiosity coming out of the last couple of pre-season games.   The top line might end up having Giroux on the wing with Courturier and Voracek.  I’m torn with this being an actual line, and one that’s used sporadically in an effort to catch up.  As a line to try and get a last minute goal, I love it and am all for practicing it during the pre-season.  As a full time line, I do want to see what Courturier could do with more talented wingers, but I feel this is making two lines worse.  Especially I think this hurts the “checking” line that Courturier anchors and puts the team in a worse position defensively.  I would rather roll with Giroux, Patrick, Courturier, and Laughton down the middle to start the season but perhaps that’s the conservative approach and what the team needs to do is get off to a fast start.

As for the defense, this is the part that really saddens me as I just don’t understand what the organization is doing.  I fail to see how MacDonald and Manning make the team better playing over any of the 3 “rookies.”  I know all three are currently on the team and are making the trip out to San Jose due to Ghost’s injury but all signs point to either Morin or Sanheim going back down soon as it was announced that Hagg made the team.  I didn’t watch all of the preseason games, but what I saw and read were that those two defenders clearly weren’t out of place in the NHL game.  Sure there will be some rockiness with either of them, but if what’s transpired with Ghost and Provorov are any indication, getting young players minutes does better them in the long run.  Perhaps the wisdom is to try and give the 2 veterans some tape for trade-bait?

The schedule starting off for the Flyers certainly isn’t an easy one opening on the road with some of the toughest teams in the league, but it will certainly provide a good measuring stick for the team.  The first 4 games on the road, followed by a 5 game home stand will give some chances to get some momentum swings.  If the Flyers can get a road split, I would see that as a successful road trip for sure with that home opener against Washington looming large.  But I could just as easily see this team going 0-5 to start off, and that would certainly be a rough start I’m not sure I would be in panic mode after that.

At least I get to watch tomorrow’s game as it is nationally televised, so I will have a full review and possibly some live tweeting as well.

Author: DocHoliday

Expanding to cover lots of things sports, gaming, and life.

One thought on “Flyers Season Starts Tomorrow”

Leave a comment